📌 Join the BPCrew Chapter in your city and meet up with more Yankees fans! 👉 CLICK HERE

Bronx Pinstripes 2020 MLB Awards

Starting tonight, MLB will announce the awards winners for the shortened and crazy 2020 season. The awards are broadcast on MLB Network at 6 p.m. and here’s the schedule:

Monday, 11/9: Rookie of the Year

Tuesday, 11/10: Manager of the Year

Wednesday 11/11: Cy Young

Thursday 11/12: MVP

Like we do every year, we polled our writers to see who we would vote for if we had the power. Thank you to Stephen, Stanzo, Milan, Twitchy, Jeff Long, Michael Gwizdala, Drew, and Sasha Lueck for being our esteemed voting panel. Onto the votes!

The most contentious race is the one for AL MVP with Jose Abreu and DJ LeMahieu receiving four votes each in our poll. There is definitely some homerism going on here because this is a New York Yankees blog, and I can say with confidence that one of the Jose’s will win the MVP. It wouldn’t be surprising if Jose Ramirez’s strong end to the season won it for him, however. Over in the NL, we agreed on Freddie Freeman with a lone vote for Mookie Betts. After recovering from COVID-19, Freeman is quite the success story of the 2020 season.

The Cy Young races were not close for us. Shane Bieber, my preseason prediction, will most assuredly win the AL Cy Young, and in the NL, everyone but me predicted Trevor Bauer will win the Cy heading into an exciting free agency for him.

Kyle Lewis is our consensus AL ROY after his breakout season with a couple of stray votes for Luis Robert. Much like the expected actual NL ROY race, we were all over the place. With four votes, Alec Bohm received the most among us. Despite his fantastic decision to remove Blake Snell in the sixth inning of Game 7 of the World Series, we picked Kevin Cash as the manager of the year for the AL. Secretly, I’m hoping Rick Renteria brings it home after he was fired by the Chicago White Sox only to be replaced by Tony LaRussa of all people. Over in the NL, Don Mattingly is likely to take home the hardware. While the Miami Marlins were quite the success story, personally, I don’t believe he should be rewarded after the team’s COVID outbreak which was seemingly due to broken protocols.

With all that, we have our projected winners!

AL MVP: Jose Abreu & DJ LeMahieu

NL MVP: Freddie Freeman

AL Cy Young: Shane Bieber

NL Cy Young: Trevor Bauer

AL ROY: Kyle Lewis

NL ROY: Alec Bohm

AL MOY: Kevin Cash

NL MOY: Don Mattingly

You can contact Rohan on Twitter @rohanarcot20