๐Ÿ“Œ Join the BPCrew Chapter in your city and meet up with more Yankees fans! ๐Ÿ‘‰ CLICK HERE

A-Rod, Tex, headline new Yankees candidates on 2022 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. โ€” The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, N.Y., has unveiled its 2022 ballot. The 2022 BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot features 30 former players, including 13 new candidates and 17 returnees.

Headling the list of new candidates is former New York Yankees’ third baseman, รlex Rodrรญguez. Joining A-Rod among the new eligibles are his 2009 World Series teammate and first baseman Mark Teixeira, Carl Crawford, Prince Fielder, Ryan Howard, Tim Lincecum, Justin Morneau, Joe Nathan, David Ortiz, Jonathan Papelbon, Jake Peavy, A.J. Pierzynski, Jimmy Rollins.

During his tenure in the Bronx, A-Rod swatted 351 bombs, won two MVPs, three silver slugger awards, and was a six-time All-Star.

Embed from Getty Images

The switch-hitting Teixeira smacked 206 home runs in the Bronx, earned one silver slugger award, three gold glove awards, and was twice an All-Star.

Embed from Getty Images

Former Yankees’ returning to the ballot are Roger Clemens (tenth and final year), Gary Sheffield (eighth year), Andruw Jones (fifth year), Andy Pettitte (fourth year), and Bobby Abreu (third year).

Embed from Getty Images

Other players also returning are Curt Schilling (tenth and final year), Barry Bonds (tenth and final year), Sammy Sosa (tenth and final year), Jeff Kent (ninth year), Billy Wagner (seventh year), Manny Ramirez (sixth year), Scott Rolen (fifth year), Omar Vizquel (fifth year), Todd Helton (fourth year), Mark Buehrle (second year), Torii Hunter (second year), and Tim Hudson (second year).

No players were selected by the BBWAA in 2021.

Will there be any new players elected and inducted in 2022?

The final election results will be announced at 6 p.m. ET on Jan. 25 on MLB Network.

If there are any electees, they will be inducted during the Hall of Fame Weekend on Sunday, July 24, at 1:30 p.m.