Home Run Derby field set

The 2013 Home Run Derby field has been finalized, as AL captain Robinson Cano picked his final member – the Oakland A’s’ Yoenis Cespedes. The contest is set to take place at Citi Field – home of the Mets – on July 15 on ESPN. Here are the teams for each league.

American League

Robinson Cano (captain) – NYY – 20 HR
Prince Fielder – DET – 15 HR
Chris Davis – BAL – 33 HR (leads majors)
Yoenis Cespedes – OAK – 15 HR

National League

David Wright (captain) – NYM – 13 HR
Carlos Gonzalez – COL – 24 HR
Michael Cuddyer – COL – 15 HR
Bryce Harper – WAS – 13 HR

The AL team looks vastly superior than the NL, boasting two former champions – Cano and Fielder. In the overall team competition, the AL has won in each of the past three seasons. Last year, Cano looked to retain his Derby crown, but failed to hit one out – drawing jeers from the Kansas City crowd because hometown hero Billy Butler was not chosen for the AL squad. This year’s contest promises to be entertaining with so many big names stepping into the batters box.

Who do you think will win the team competition and the individual crown?

The following two tabs change content below.

Rich Kaufman

Ever since my parents bought me a Paul O'Neill shirt at my first Yankees game back in 1994 I've been a diehard fan. I graduated from Springfield College in Springfield, Mass., in 2011 with a degree in Communications/Sports Journalism, so writing about the Yankees has always been a passion of mine.

Latest posts by Rich Kaufman (see all)

  • saucY

    Wright should have picked Puig instead of 2 guys from the Rockies. Especially because it seems like he won’t win the final vote.

  • Kimberly Atzrott

    Good for Cuddy. Glad they have a different range of guys this year.